Concerned: Apple Pushing iOS 10.3 Users to Turn on 2-Factor Authentication through Push Notifications

iOS 10.3 Beta

Apple is more concerned about your privacy and security than you can imagine and apparently, the tech giant has started sending iOS 10.3 users push notifications prompting them to enable two-factor authentication security feature on their iPhones.

The push notification is new and in fact, it has not lasted 24 hours just yet since it started appearing on iOS 10.3 devices. If you proceed and swipe on the notification, Apple tries to explain what two-factor authentication really is and the entire process of how to turn it on so as to better your phone’s security and privacy. If you think this is not enough, Apple has also added an option to learn more about this new authentication technique.

Alternatively, Apple will also let you know that you need to enable two-factor authentication when you open the Settings app on your iOS 10.3 device. When inside the app, a warning is visible from the top of the screen asking you to enable the feature. This will happen even if you had chosen to ignore the push notification.

According to Apple, two-factor authentication is the best way to keep your iOS 10.3 account as secure as possible because it keeps away even those who have access to your password. Your identity must be verified on one of your devices or phone number in order to complete the signing in process.

iOS 10.3 Beta

To show it’s seriousness towards this type of security, Apple is making life a little difficult with making the notification go away. One way to remove it is by simply turning on the two-factor authentication feature. Alternatively, you can manually clear it in order to make it disappear. Usually, unlocking your device would get rid of notifications.

As for enabling the two-factor authentication feature on iOS 10.3, it’s a no-brainer. Once you hit the notification and are into the Settings page, just hit “Turn on” and confirm your mobile phone number and that’s it! An email will be sent to your address to inform you that the feature has been enabled on your account.

Since the feature is only appearing to those using iOS 10.3, an OS that is still in beta, it is expected that the same will also happen to those who will receive the stable version.

Article View Count: (113)

Leave a Reply